Leadership & Key Members

UCLA Stairs

The Broad Stem Cell Research Center’s membership represents a diverse group of UCLA faculty committed to advancing stem cell research and its application to clinical medicine. Our faculty are in pursuit of breakthroughs that may lead to treatments for musculoskeletal diseases, cancer, blood disorders, and neurological disorders, among others. Dr. Owen Witte is the BSCRC’s internationally renowned founding Director. He is joined by esteemed colleagues and co-directors Drs. Utpal Banerjee and Gay Crooks in leading a team of world-class researchers in the translation of laboratory breakthroughs to new diagnostics and therapies.



Gordon and Virginia MacDonald Distinguished Professor, Neurology, Psychiatry and Human Genetics; Senior Associate Dean and Associate Vice Chancellor, Precision Health; Director, Institute of Precision Health
Assistant Professor-in-Residence, Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology; Urology
Associate Professor, Pediatrics; Pulmonary Medicine
Professor, Molecular and Medical Pharmacology; Director, UCLA Metabolomics Center
Professor, Molecular Cell and Developmental Biology; Director, Molecular Biology Institute
Distinguished Professor, Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology; Professor, Biological Chemistry
Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology
Distinguished Professor, Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics; Pediatrics (Hematology/Oncology); Molecular and Medical Pharmacology
Professor, Psychiatry, Pharmacology and Pediatrics; Director, Neural Stem Cell Research Center, UCLA Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior