Leadership & Key Members

UCLA Stairs
The Broad Stem Cell Research Center’s membership represents a diverse group of UCLA faculty committed to advancing stem cell research and its application to clinical medicine. Faculty members are in pursuit of breakthroughs that may lead to treatments for musculoskeletal diseases, cancer, blood disorders, and neurological disorders, among others. Dr. Owen Witte is the center's internationally renowned founding director. He is joined by co-directors Drs. Utpal Banerjee, Gay Crooks and S. Thomas Carmichael in leading a team of world-class researchers in the translation of laboratory breakthroughs to new diagnostics and therapies.


Return to Leadership & Key Members Home


Judith C. Gasson, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine and Biological Chemistry, Emeritus
Daniel Geschwind, M.D., Ph.D.
Gordon and Virginia MacDonald Distinguished Professor, Neurology, Psychiatry and Human Genetics; Senior Associate Dean and Associate Vice Chancellor, Precision Health; Director, Institute for Precision Health
Andrew Goldstein, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology; Urology
Brigitte Gomperts, M.D.
Professor, Pediatrics; Pulmonary Medicine
Thomas Graeber, Ph.D.
Professor, Molecular and Medical Pharmacology; Director, UCLA Metabolomics Center