Leadership & Key Members

UCLA Stairs
The Broad Stem Cell Research Center’s membership represents a diverse group of UCLA faculty committed to advancing stem cell research and its application to clinical medicine. Faculty members are in pursuit of breakthroughs that may lead to treatments for musculoskeletal diseases, cancer, blood disorders, and neurological disorders, among others. Thomas A. Rando, M.D., Ph.D. is the center's renowned director. He is joined by associate directors Brigitte Gomperts, M.D., Siavash Kurdistani, M.D. and William Lowry, Ph.D. in leading a team of world-class researchers in the translation of laboratory breakthroughs to new diagnostics and therapies. 


Return to Leadership & Key Members Home


Luis de la Torre-Ubieta, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
Arjun Deb, M.D.
Professor, Cardiology; Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology; Director, UCLA Cardiovascular Medicine Research Theme
Sophie Deng, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Cornea Division; Director, Cornea Biology Laboratory, Jules Stein Eye Institute
Kenneth Dorshkind, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Bruce Dunn, Ph.D.
Nippon Sheet Glass Professor and Chair, Materials Science and Engineering