Leadership & Key Members

UCLA Stairs
The Broad Stem Cell Research Center’s membership represents a diverse group of UCLA faculty committed to advancing stem cell research and its application to clinical medicine. Faculty members are in pursuit of breakthroughs that may lead to treatments for musculoskeletal diseases, cancer, blood disorders, and neurological disorders, among others. Dr. Owen Witte is the center's internationally renowned founding director. He is joined by co-directors Drs. Utpal Banerjee, Gay Crooks and S. Thomas Carmichael in leading a team of world-class researchers in the translation of laboratory breakthroughs to new diagnostics and therapies.


Return to Leadership & Key Members Home


Co-Director, UCLA Broad Stem Cell Research Center; Professor and Chair, Neurology
Assistant Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Associate Professor, Urology
Associate Professor, Biological Chemistry; Molecular and Medical Pharmacology
Professor of Medicine, Hematology/Oncology, Radiation Oncology; Director, Outpatient Stem Cell Transplantation Program
Professor and Chair, Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology
Assistant Professor, Molecular and Medical Pharmacology
Associate Professor, Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology; Biological Chemistry
Co-Director, UCLA Broad Stem Cell Research Center; Professor and Rebecca Smith Endowed Chair, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Professor, Pediatrics